It Creeps Into Everything…Absolutely Everything

meowser-48.jpg posted by meowser

One of the things C. and I like to do together on Sundays is the Sunday New York Times crossword puzzle in the Oregonian. Between the two of us, we can usually figure most of it out over the course of a day, even if it seems impossibly hard in the beginning. But sometimes there are a few leftover clues. And let’s just say that today there was one I really didn’t get. In more ways than one.

The clue was, “Way overdue to take off?” Five letters. I had an “O” for the first letter and an “E” for the last. I kept thinking it had to be “ONICE,” but it didn’t fit. Finally I gave up.

Oh, you can probably guess what it was. “OBESE.”

Get it? Way overdue to take off? Like, take off weight? HAHAHAHAHAHA, so funny.

Except it’s not. It’s getting less funny every minute, actually. Can’t I take pleasure in frigging anything without worrying about it coming back to bite me? Anything at all?

Posted in etc.. 16 Comments »

16 Responses to “It Creeps Into Everything…Absolutely Everything”

  1. JeanC Says:

    I enjoy the occasional crossword puzzle and have to say that is the STUPIDEST clue I have ever seen in my life. Whoever came up with that one needs to be visited by a clue bat.

  2. fatfu Says:

    I like doing logic problems, and last night I got this:

    “Four married couples gathered around a table at their Weight Control meeting last weekend to share the successes and obstacles of the past two weeks…At the meeting they discovered that each of the eight had lost a different number of pounds…Each person also had a different obstacle that he or she needs to address in order to stay healthy. From the clues that follow, can you determine the full name of each person…as well as his or her main obstacle and the number of pounds he or she shed over two weeks?”

  3. Bill Says:

    Chill out. I don’t think the NYTimes is targeting you or others that are obese. Not to mention that obesity is a clinical diagnosis, not malicious insult. The clue and word could just have easily been, “could add a few” and “SKINNY.”

    My advise: if you are that sensitive about your weight, lose some.

  4. ChaChaHeels Says:

    Whoa–Bill, “obesity is a clinical diagnosis, not an insult”? Are you deliberately blind to the way the world thinks of this clinical diagnosis and those to whom it’s given? Are you not aware it’s actually part of a massive insult, one of the last remaining socially sanctioned (and now “medically” bolstered) prejudice in the world?

    Are you also not aware that that particular clinical diagnosis is based on a bogus assumption about the human body’s construction, the reality of health history, and fact about what disease and health actually are?

    How can you not notice that, all around you, in the world? I mean, that was the point of the post, wasn’t it? Kids see it right off (just to show you again how prevalent the maliciousness about “fat” and obesity has become), so I’m wondering why you’re having trouble. Would you have told Martin Luther King that if he were that sensitive about his skin colour, he could just paint himself white every day, too?

  5. Ray Says:

    I feel your pain. I have long been labeled an alcoholic, which would be fine except for the negative connotations associated with the term. Why can’t people just let us be? I’m a perfectly healthy guy, and I’m sure I will continue to be. It really makes me angry when people are like, “man, you are killing your liver, destroying vitamins etc.” Most of the supposed health risks are just lies. Look at someone like Winston Churchill. That guy lived forever. Like you have mentioned, society just wants us to eat and drink what it thinks is right and to look and act how they tell us. Not cool. So keep up the fight, you are right!

  6. Lori Crews Says:

    My mother died of liver failure at the age of 56 due to her drinking. I almost died during detox two years ago, and I’ve been sober since. If you’re really an alkie, it’s going to get you. It is a progressive illness with nowhere to go but down.
    P.S. I’ve just lost 30 pounds at WW.

  7. Meowser Says:

    1. I don’t accept alcoholic/fat comparisons (2-year-olds don’t drink, y’know, though they certainly get diagnosed as “fat”), although I certainly think there’s plenty of hypocrisy in this society about alcohol use.

    2. When I actually see a NY Times puzzle clue that says “could add a few” and the answer “skinny,” or suchlike, I’ll accept Bill’s comparison. But to be honest, I don’t expect to during the course of my lifetime. Skinny people are who 99% of the Times’ ads are aimed at; they can’t afford to offend them.

    3. Please note the use of the word “just” in Lori’s final sentence. WW has built its business on testimonials from people with short term loss, NOT from people who have managed to keep it all off for 5 years or more — because as Fu stated in her post about WW, those people ain’t just rare, they’re raw. Any further WW testimonials will be either be deleted or severely mocked, depending on how lazy my fat ass is feeling that day.

  8. meowser Says:

    And Goodman, I deleted your post because, funny thing, this is a fat acceptance blog. We are NOT looking for weight loss advice of ANY kind here. I’m not sure what gives you people the idea that we have never thought of or tried (over and over and over again since we were kids!) your “oh so simple weight loss hints.” But you’re so wrong it hurts.

  9. Goodman Says:

    Well, just as the guy above should try to quit drinking, it seems that people should at least try to lose weight for better health (personal and societal– by reducing medical cost etc.). Just like quitting smoking or drinking, it is a very difficult thing to lose weight and it might take many approaches and incredible effort. Some people might not succeed, but as the cliche says, trying and giving your best effort is the most important step. I think it’s the giving up part that strikes me as sad. Oh and yes, I can see your point about alcoholism and obesity being different, just saying two year olds don’t drink but are overweight sheds no light. For one thing, parents realize that they shouldn’t give booze to a baby. Not all parents are as diligent about avoiding other potentially unhealthy foods in their kids diets. And that comparison, too, is rather ridiculous, but I’m just following the path set by your logic.

  10. vesta44 Says:

    Goodman, what you don’t seem to realize is that after the 10th or 15th or 20th attempt at losing weight and failing to keep it off even if you are only eating 600 calories a day, you get tired of trying to fit someone else’s ideal. You get tired of wrecking your health (mental and physical). You want to starve for the rest of your life so you can be thin, fine, go for it. But don’t you dare come to a fat acceptance blog and tell us that we can do it too. We’ve been there done that more times than you can count. We’ve learned the hard way that our worth is not fucking dependent on the size of our asses. We’ve learned the hard way that getting and staying thin is an impossibility for a lot of us. You have a lot of nerve to say that healthy eating and exercise will magically make us thin. Guess what? A lot of us do those things and we’re still fat. And we aren’t costing you any more in insurance costs than the skinny person who sits on his/her ass all day, drinks like fish, smokes like a chimney, and takes all kinds of other unhealthy risks. I’m not pissing and moaning about how much they’re costing the health care system, so you have no call to bitch about what I or any other fat person costs that same health care system. Get off your high horse and see the real world, because right now, you’re living in a dream world that will never exist (where everyone is thin and healthy).

  11. Goodman Says:

    Vesta, I can understand what you’re saying. I guess my primary problem, and I don’t know that this blog is guilty, but others are, is the denial of medical science and the setting of a precedent that might lead a younger generation to not recognize obesity as a health risk that needs to be addressed. I work with middle school children, and it seems that every year, more and more of the kids are carrying many extra pounds. These kids should never be belittled, but I think it would be negligent not to teach them the importance of eating healthy foods and exercising, just as it would be negligent to not educate them about the risk of smoking, drinking, or anorexia. Similarly, I would be very disappointed to see blogs denying the health risks of smoking and saying, “oh well, just light up” (although I’m sure there are plenty–but they didn’t just have a big NYTimes article to promote their message to a national audience. We need to provide people with easier, more affordable access to health and diet consultants who might see an angle an individual trying to lose weight missed, just as someone trying to stop drinking often needs help. So I believe in support, not denial. And if you don’t want to take those steps, that, of course, is your choice, but don’t (and I’m not saying you in particular did) belittle the medical professionals who are trying help people live healthier lives. Hope you are well.

  12. Meowser Says:

    Health At Every Size, Goodman. Look it up. Start here.

    Making kids freaked out about food and calories and fat and getting them to hate their bodies is not ultimately a healthy thing. Most people I know who are “officially fat” were made to freak out about their weights from a very young age, and were either restricted by parents or, in some cases, themselves. In many cases they wound up much fatter than if people had simply let them be and they got to eat “normally.” (The unscientific term for this is “trashing your metabolism.”)

    It made me less active, not more, to be so self-conscious about my body. Think I wanted to be seen “jiggling” where other kids could see me and make fun of me? That’s how most fat kids feel. Most kids naturally want to be active, but pump them full of fear and loathing about how they look and they’re almost guaranteed to become more sedentary and hide indoors. I can’t imagine what it’s like to be a fat kid now; it must be like walking around with a giant bullseye painted on your forehead.

    The “obesity epidemic culture” is NOT helping. All it’s doing is making kids hate vegetables and exercise more than they already do, not to mention hate their bodies and themselves. They’re not getting kids any thinner OR any healthier by piling all this needless stress on them. They need to stop. NOW.

    Sure, turn kids on to different flavors of food, turn them on to the joys of cooking and growing things, give them safe places to play and run around (including safety from weight-related abuse while they do so — again, never EVER underestimate the impact that has on a child’s psyche, often for life). But shame them about their weight? A definite NO from this camp.

  13. vesta44 Says:

    Well, let’s see now, my BMI has hovered between 50 and 59 for the last 30 years of my life. For the 10 years before that, it was between 28 and 30 (I’m 54, btw). I’m not just obese, I’m walking dead morbidly obese and have been for 30 years. I don’t know how many times doctors have practically fainted because I’m not diabetic, I don’t have high blood pressure, and my cholesterol numbers are good (and remember, I’m the walking dead obese here). I’ve been told time and time again that my fat is going to cause all kinds of problems/diseases and it’s going to kill me in the next 5 years. Well, my grandfather was fat, and he was 90 when he died. Both of my grandmothers were fat, and they both died at 86 (quietly, in their sleep). Both of my parents would be considered obese and they’re still going strong at 73 and 74. So fat isn’t as unhealthy as we’re told, and frankly, I’m sick to death of people coming into any fat acceptance site and telling us we need to get healthy. I’m 5′ 8″ and I weigh 377 lbs, and my doctor says I’m healthy and not to worry about my weight. She should know, I think.
    You just don’t seem to be able to get the point, so pardon my shouting here: YOU CAN’T MAKE A NATURALLY FAT PERSON PERMANENTLY THIN, JUST LIKE YOU CAN’T MAKE A NATURALLY THIN PERSON PERMANENTLY FAT!! If fat people could actually get and stay thin forever, do you really think there would be any fat people? Do you really think we like being told that all it takes is eating healthy and exercising? IT DOESN’T WORK TO MAKE ALL FAT PEOPLE PERMANENTLY THIN!! How many times does this have to be said before you understand it? If you’ve never been really fat (and I don’t mean just 10 or 20 or 30 pounds overweight), you don’t have a clue what it’s like to be fat and know you’ll never be thin without starvation/malnutrition and you never will.

  14. Goodman Says:

    Meowser, I never said anything about making kids self-loathing. I said “These kids should never be belittled, but I think it would be negligent not to teach them the importance of eating healthy foods and exercising, just as it would be negligent to not educate them about the risk of smoking, drinking, or anorexia.” You played the old politician spin game with your reply. And Vesta, first, there will always be plenty of exceptions to the longevity rule. There are plenty of alcoholics, smokers, etc. who live to be 90. Are those habits healthy? I don’t think so. And as far as being able to lose weight, the majority of scientific evidence suggests that, except for a select few people with certain conditions, people are able to lose weight and keep it off. Most people, however, are missing some component…be it information about how to lose weight, desire, etc. Almost all of my overweight friends and acquaintances have quite a few unhealthy habits. Sure, there are exceptions, but that’s what I’ve seen with my own eyes. I’m amazed at how many people don’t take the stairs, drive to do errands, frequently eat fast food etc, and whose idea of working out is to sit on an exercise bike and read a magazine, peddling seeming as an after thought. But I guess we’re going to have to agree to disagree. For know I’m going to keep my mouth shut. If the “fat is healthy trend” continues to get national attention, however, I’m sure my self and many other scientist and health care providers will join me is speaking out. All the best to you.

  15. Lexie Says:

    Dear Bill,
    Just because someone is sensitive doesn’t mean they’re unhappy with themselves. Anyone or any group of people who are teased or targeted has a right to be upset. I love my body and my weight but if someone calls me names, it’ll upset me. I bet if you had no hair and someone called you a cue-ball or chrome dome you’d be upset too, even if it wasn’t directed at you, specifically.

  16. Hoyden About Town Says:

    [...] blog is dubbed “Dead Man Walking“. A commenter on fat fu even called hirself “walking dead morbidly obese” – while mentioning that sie has been that way for thirty [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

