My Venus of Willendorf Song!

It’s called “Venus if You Will…” and my “band name” is Normal Fauna. I played everything — the keyboard parts for piano, bass and congas, plus live tambourines and shakers, plus did the vocals. It’s available on Garageband.com for downloading or streaming (there’s a low-fi stream available if you’re on dialup). Click on the link below, then on the song link on the right side of the page. Hope you enjoy!

http://www.garageband.com/artist/normalfauna

19 Responses to “My Venus of Willendorf Song!”

  1. kateharding Says:

    That is AWESOME! I had no idea you were so talented! I love your voice — yay, PCOS! 🙂

    Congrats to you for taking yourself seriously and doing it right, too. That takes a lot of guts.

  2. Meowser Says:

    Thanks, Kate. Since you use a VoW icon, I was really hoping you especially would like it!

  3. Tari Says:

    Man! I’m kinda bummed that you didn’t enter it into the contest. I review on Garageband (Folk Channel – woo hoo!) all the time, and this would have been a pleasure to hear.

    I’ll resist too much musician-centric critique here and just say that I really enjoyed it. Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. Ed Heil Says:

    Listened. Downloaded. Now a treasured part of my iTunes library. 🙂

  5. meowser Says:

    Tari, I was thinking of entering it. I gather that in order to enter you either have to pay a fee or review 15 pairs of GBand songs. I might look into doing the latter.

    And thanks, Ed!

  6. jelly-filled Says:

    Awesome! The song is wonderful. You’re very talented.

  7. Tari Says:

    Yeah, it’s $20 (I think) or 15 *pairs* of reviews. Which may explain why I’ve done so many reviews…

  8. Mary Heil Says:

    I really loved it. Your voice is like raw silk. I’m glad my husband has apparently saved it to our ITunes library. And how sad is it that I learned that on your blog instead of I dunno, *conversation*? 🙂

  9. fatfu Says:

    Absolutely beautiful Meowser! This is going on my ipod favs right away.

  10. Meowser Says:

    Thanks so much, everybody! Mary, I’m happy I could get you and your husband talking. 😛

  11. Kate217 Says:

    Is there anything you can’t do? Honestly, if I didn’t love you so much, I’d seriously have to hate you. 😀

  12. meowser Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!

    If it makes you feel any better, Kate217, I can’t play keyboards that well live at all. I had to take ample advantage of the fabulous digital editing properties of Garageband to get my playing to sound like that. If you sat me down at a piano I couldn’t duplicate it to save my life.

    Seriously, you should check out this program if you have any desire at all to make music. I’m almost convinced it could make my mom, who couldn’t play a tambourine or carry a tune if you welded it to her, sound halfway decent.

  13. Ann Aguirre Says:

    You have a gorgeous voice, and the lyrics are fantastic. I love this song.

  14. Curvaceous Dee Says:

    I adored the song, the lyrics, and the meaning behind it. And have promptly downloaded it.

    Thank you for sharing it with us all!

  15. Dancinghawk Says:

    Meowser, this song rocks. Your voice is sexy as hell and this appeals to me both as a pagan and on the body-acceptance level.

  16. cynth Says:

    Meowser that was fantastic! I am very impressed and your voice is great.

  17. Vageejeej Says:

    WOW ! that was a tantilizing experience. My friends and I were just researching, and stumbled upon this gift from the spirit of willendorf herself. This is a definite option for my wedding song, as i’m pretty sure my fiance won’t need too much convincing once he hears this song. Thank you, truly, thank you from the bottom of my heart.
    Keep em’ coming ! i will be here waiting.
    p.s your voice IS like raw silk !

  18. Meowser Says:

    Vageejeej, thanks so much! Please do let me know if you use it in your wedding, that would be really exciting to know about!

  19. What Our Ears Have Been Missing « fat fu Says:

    […] some of you know, I sing sometimes. Here’s why I don’t do it in public very much these days: I’m a wuss. Being […]


Leave a Reply

