Announcement: Shapelings PDX Meetup on May 24!

meowser-48.jpg posted by meowser

Thanks to Fillyjonk over at Shapely Prose for putting up the Where In The World Are Shapelings? post last Friday, in which thread a Portland meetup was generated! I am stoked! Here are details:

Date: Saturday, May 24
Time: 1 PM
Place: Voodoo Doughnut, 22 SW 3rd Avenue, PDX (just south of Burnside)

Street parking only (you will need quarters for the meters). Taking mass transit is highly recommended; it’s near all the downtown bus routes (get out around Burnside) or about 6 or 7 blocks from the MAX light rail or Portland Streetcar.

No RSVP necessary, just show up if you want to — but if you have any questions feel free to post them. I’ll be re-posting the announcement closer to the date, but I wanted to put it up now in case anyone planned to come in from outside the city.

If the weather is nice, we can get our doughnuts and walk around; if not, we can huddle indoors. If you can’t or don’t want to eat doughnuts, that’s cool too; they probably won’t care if everyone orders, as long as some of us do. (Vegan doughnuts are available!)

Hope to see you there!

8 Responses to “Announcement: Shapelings PDX Meetup on May 24!”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Dude I don’t eat donuts nor do I live in Portland but hot DAMN I would totally go somewhere named Voodoo Doughnuts. With like bells of joy on.

    This is totally reason #735 that the man unit and I need to make a trip down south to the Portland.

  2. Meowser Says:

    Shannon, I hope you and your man unit and your bells of joy will be able to join us! Voodoo’s ‘nuts are great to look at, and the entire place is a trip, even if you don’t eat them.

  3. Jessica Says:

    I will be there! I am so, so excited to get to meet up with peeps–I don’t comment here, much (if at all, honestly), but I read faithfully.

  4. Meowser Says:

    Thanks, Jessica!

  5. peggynature Says:

    Aw, I wish I could go. I’m originally from Portland, and the last (and first) time I was at Voodoo Doughnut was last summer, when I went home for my 10-year high school reunion!

    I hope everyone has fun. The donuts really are excellent, too (but I am a confirmed donutphile, from childhood.)

  6. Meowser Says:

    Too bad we couldn’t mail you one, huh?

  7. Krista Says:

    I was just researching PDX last night, in my quest to move there to get my Masters. A place called Voodoo doughnuts seals the deal 😉 Actually, the impressive amount of public transit available makes me wonder why I am still here in Phoenix.

    I always take a trip or four to someplace before I commit to a move. I will let you know and maybe we can have another meetup 🙂

  8. Meowser Says:

    Oh, absolutely, Krista. Yeah, I remember waiting for buses in Phoenix when it was 115 degrees out. Eeeesh. That reason alone is probably why the transit sucks so bad there. But yeah, let me know when/if you’re going to be here, for sure!


Leave a Reply

