Baby Voodoo Doughnuts Reminder: PDX Shapelings Meetup Tomorrow, May 24!

meowser-48.jpg posted by meowser

Yes, it’s still on! My cold has more or less dried up, so I do plan to be there.

Date: Saturday, May 24
Time: 1 PM
Place: Voodoo Doughnut, 22 SW 3rd Avenue, PDX (just south of Burnside)

Please note: This place is CASH ONLY. But it’s cheap; doughnuts start at 80 cents and beverages start at $1 last I checked.

Street parking only (you will need quarters for the meters). There are also paid parking lots in Chinatown a few blocks north of Burnside. Taking mass transit is highly recommended; it’s near all the downtown bus routes (get out around Burnside) or about 6 or 7 blocks from the MAX light rail or Portland Streetcar.

No RSVP necessary, just show up if you want to. I’ll be leaving at about noon to head on over there, and I am one of those dinosaurs who leaves her Net access at home, so if you think you want to come but you’re iffy about time of arrival, post a message here or E me (andeejr at gmail) and let me know what you think your arrival time range might be.

If the weather is nice, we can get our doughnuts and walk around; if not, we can huddle indoors. If you can’t or don’t want to eat doughnuts, that’s cool too; they probably won’t care if everyone orders, as long as some of us do. (Vegan doughnuts are available!)

Hope to see you there!

5 Responses to “Baby Voodoo Doughnuts Reminder: PDX Shapelings Meetup Tomorrow, May 24!”

  1. wellroundedtype2 Says:

    I wish I could have been there — I am still recovering from a series of nasty colds and the weather up ways is absolutely beautiful right now, so I’m glad I’m here. Still, I would love to meet you someday. If you ever plan an excursion northward, please let me know! I hope it was fun and full of doughnuttyness.
    Did you commission some special baby-flavor-themed doughnuts for the occassion?

  2. Meowser Says:

    Oh, if only we could have! Actually, Voodoo was unusually busy yesterday — they seemed to have gotten hit with a few tour buses — and by the time we got up there, they were sold out of most of everything! But they did have a few things left, fortunately. Time-Machine and Himawari came, and Stella stopped by with her lovely husband and kids, and everyone was fantastic and awesome to talk to, and we even had good weather for a change!

    So maybe there will be another Shapelings donut run at some point, but either way, I’m sure I could find it in me to get up to where you are sometime soon. Let me know by E when might be good for you, and we can plan for it!

  3. Himawari Says:

    The meetup was a lot of fun! It was awesome meeting you and Time-Machine and Stella. Thank you for organizing the whole thing!

  4. Stella Says:

    Yes, I’m so glad I met all of you–I do hope we are able to get together again! Meowser, I’m putting my conference proposal together this weekend, and I’m going to send it to you for feedback. Is that okay?

  5. Meowser Says:

    Sure, Stella, go ahead!

    I might organize another meetup somewhere near PDX in the next couple of months, so if anyone has any requests for a meeting spot, feel free to LMK.


Leave a Reply

