Quickie Blognote

meowser-48.jpg posted by meowser

No, I did not put those Google ads on my site. I don’t know how they got there, and I’m not getting paid for them. If anyone knows how to get rid of them, please let me know; otherwise, I’ll be tinkering with the site later trying to figure it out.

4 Responses to “Quickie Blognote”

  1. wriggles Says:

    Sorry I can’t help, but I’ve seen this on other sites recently, plus one of the fat feeds was taken over by a rancid dieting blog. Bri’s on that one.

    Let’s hope it’s all co-incidence.

  2. Maritzia Says:

    Sounds like you might have been hacked. Google code usually has the word google all over it. If you search each file for your website for that word, you’ll probably find it quickly. It’s a java script code and fairly easy to identify.

    Once you find it, e-mail the code snippit to Google Adsense, and they can identify who owns the ads (and delete their account). I’d also change all of your admin passwords.

  3. meowser Says:

    Oooh, I think I figured it out. WP sells a product called “No-Ads” with the following marketing copy:

    We sometimes display discreet advertisements on your blog—this keeps free features free!

    The ad code tries very hard not to intrude on your design or show ads to logged-in readers, which means only a very small percentage of your page views will actually contain ads.

    To eliminate ads on your blog entirely this is the upgrade you want.

    So apparently, I have to pay them to make my blog ad-free.

    Harmph.

    • living400lbs Says:

      …argh.

      The reason I haven’t grabbed a domain or other “extra” features is that it’s easier to stay anonymous if WordPress doesn’t know who I am. Giving them money tends to break that.


Leave a Reply

